Home Boxing News Conn. Boxing HOF award winners announced

Conn. Boxing HOF award winners announced

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (September 13, 2011) – Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame “CBHOF” officials today announced its annual award winners for Professional and Amateur Fighters of the Year, respectively, Delvin Rodriguez and Tremaine Williams, as well as Official of the Year, Don Trella, and Achievement Award, Peter Timothy.

The award presentations, as well as induction ceremonies, will be held at the seventh annual CBHOF Gala Induction Dinner will be held Saturday night, October 29 in the Uncas Ballroom at Mohegan Sun Casino in Uncasville, Connecticut.

The 2011 CBHOF inductees are five-time world champion Vinny “The Pazmanian Devil” Paz; 1996 U.S. Olympic Boxing Team Captain, Lawrence Clay-Bey; world boxing judge Glenn S. Feldman; world light heavyweight title challenger Eric“Magic 2000” Harding; amateur boxing standout Kelvin Anderson; boxer, referee and coach Billy Taylor; and highly-respected ringside physician, Dr. Michael Schwartz.

Tickets, priced at $75.00 per person, are available to purchase by calling Kim Baker at Mohegan Sun (860.862.7377) or Sherman Cain at the Manchester Journal Inquirer (800.237.3606 (X 321). Doors open at 5:30 PM/ET, followed by cocktails at 6 PM/ET, and then dinner.

The 31-year-old Rodriguez (25-5-3, 14 KOs), who lives in Danbury, fought to a 10-round majority draw this past July against Pawel Wolak in what is arguably the Fight of the Year. In his most recent fight in Connecticut, Rodriguez easily won a 12-round decision versus Mike Arnaoutis at Mohegan Sun. Rodriguez is a two-time USBA welterweight champion. The Dominican native lost a controversial decision for the International Boxing Federation (“IBF”) World title to Rafal Jackiewicz in Poland.

Williams attends New Horizons High School in New Haven. The 5’ 4” dynamo captured top honors at the 2011 National Golden Tournament in the 123-pound bantamweight division. He is a four-time Silver Gloves National Champion and finished third in his weight class at the recent U.S. Olympic Team Box-Offs.

Timothy was assigned as boxing commission for the Mashantucket Pequot Athletic Commission when it was first formed. He mentored there under the late John Burns, who was inducted into the CBHOF in 2006. Peter has regulated more than 150 professional and amateur boxing events, as well as mixed-martial-arts fights, at Foxwoods Resort Casino, MGM Grand at Foxwoods and other Native American Casinos during the past 17 years. Today, he serves as a boxing and MMA consultant for the Mashantucket Pequot Gaming Commission.

Trella, of Noank, has judged more than 200 bouts all over the world since 2002. He has worked 15 world title fights including Wladimir Klitschko vs.Ruslan Chagaev in Germany, Ricky Burns vs. Rocky Martinez in Scotland, and Miguel Cotto vs. Pauli Malignaggi in New York City’s famed Madison Square Garden. Don has also judged fights featuring stars such as Bernard Hopkins, Roy Jones Jr., Shannon Briggs, Victor Ortiz, Chad Dawson, Andre Berto, Marco Huck, Paul Spadafora and many more.


Go on line to www.CTBoxingHOF.com for more information about the 7th annual CBHOF Gala Introduction Dinner or the history of this organization.

{loadposition boxing text}

{loadposition boxing}