Home Boxing News Micky Ward returns to IBHOF in Canastota for induction weekend

Micky Ward returns to IBHOF in Canastota for induction weekend

The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced today “Irish” Micky Ward, whose life was portrayed in the Academy Award-winning motion picture The Fighter, will return to Canastota to attend festivities planned for the 2015 Hall of Fame Induction Weekend June 11-14th.

“’Irish’ Micky Ward was a true warrior inside the ropes,” said Hall of Fame director Edward Brophy. “The Hall of Fame is excited to welcome him back to Canastota to participate in the 2015 festivities.”

Boxing out of Lowell, MA, Ward was one of boxing’s most exciting fighters. He turned pro in 1985 and used a crowd-pleasing style to register a 38-13 (27 KOs) record that includes wins over Shea Neary, Reggie Green and Emanuel Burton. In 2002 and 2003 Ward engaged in an epic trilogy with Arturo “Thunder” Gatti (1-2). Following their third bout Ward announced his retirement from the ring. During his career, he was in “Fight of the Year” three times (2001 vs. Burton, 2002 and 2003 vs. Gatti). The Fighter, an Academy Award-winning motion picture chronicling his life, featured Mark Wahlberg as Ward and Christian Bale as his brother / trainer Dicky Eklund.

Ward will be one of the boxing stars participating in the 5K Race / Fun Run, held in conjunction with the Canastota Running Club, on Saturday, June 13th at 8:30 a.m. Over 500 runners will compete in the race, which weaves through the streets of Canastota. Awards will be presented to top finishers and many door prizes will be given away.

Other events planned for the weekend include a banquet, parade, golf tournament, boxing autograph card show, cocktail party and the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the Class of 2015. Living inductees include heavyweight champion Riddick “Big Daddy” Bowe, featherweight champion “Prince” Naseem Hamed, lightweight champion Ray “Boom Boom” Mancini, light flyweight champion Yoko Gushiken, manager Rafael Mendoza, referee Steve Smoger, journalist Nigel Collins and broadcaster Jim Lampley. Posthumous inductees in the Old-Timer and Non-Participant categories will also be honored.