Home Boxing News Alexander Krassyuk insists blow was low, but Daniel Dubois says bollocks to...

Alexander Krassyuk insists blow was low, but Daniel Dubois says bollocks to that

Oleksandr Usyk. Photo credit: Gabriel Kuchta/Getty Images

The punch that floored Oleksandr Usyk 21-0 (14) in the fifth round of his defence of the WBA, WBO and IBF heavyweight titles against Daniel Dubois 19-2 (18) was clearly illegal according to the champion’s promoter.

Ukrainian southpaw Usyk, 36, found himself on the deck for the first time in his pro career when a right uppercut to the body hit him on the belt line at Stadion Wroclaw in Wroclaw, Poland on Saturday night.

Referee Luis Pabon ruled the punch low and allowed Usyk five minutes to recover. Usyk would go on to win the fight against the 25-year-old Brit by ninth-round knockout.

Whether or not the punch in the pivotal fifth round deserved to be ruled low has been a point of contention on social media ever since.

But Usyk’s promoter Alexander Krassyuk says there should be no debate.

“How can it be legal when it’s illegal?” Karassyuk said to Fight Hub TV. “I mean when you punch someone with your knee, is it legal? No, it’s not. If you hit him below the belt, is it legal? No, it’s not.

“It happens all the time in boxing, but when it’s done intentionally, you know what the referee has to do? Take off two points for that.”

Krassyuk added that there would be just as much controversy if Dubois had won under those circumstance.

“Just imagine for one moment if Dubois was declared the winner for hitting someone below the belt,” he said. “Is that okay? No. Would people respect it? No. Would it bring any benefit to the sport? Definitely no.”

Dubois was shattered by the loss, with his promoter Frank Warren saying they would petition for a rematch.

The heavyweight contender admitted he lost focus on the fight when the punch was ruled low.

“From then on, when he went down I thought ‘OK, now the 10 count’. I knew he wasn’t going to get up in time. He was holding his stomach. He couldn’t move,” Dubois told BBC Sport.

“But something in me just felt ‘oh no, what’s going on in here? This isn’t right. Why isn’t he being counted?’ I’m looking ringside at what’s going on, I see all craziness.

“I was thinking ‘what’s going on here, this is a blatant shot.’ I told the referee I caught him and it wasn’t low. It was just confusion at the time. I became disheartened and lost momentum after that, having to come back into the fight and try to push it.

“I was up against it, on enemy territory, but I wasn’t out of my league. If that was in England that would be totally different. Circumstances make a big difference – home turf, home advantage.”

Asked at the post-fight presser if he would give Dubois a rematch, Usyk said: “I’m ready for rematch tomorrow in a street fight. I’m ready.

“Not boxing gloves, but a street fight.”